ELDERS REACT TO ESPORTS Part1

(Ragtime music)  (new age music)  - (commentator) Maybe the comeback might happen. Multiple kills coming through. - (commentator) Rocket really wants... - Is this like a movie trailer?
- (commentator) ...think that's gonna keep you alive for very long, buddy. - What is this? This is a movie or something?
- (commentator) But even though he didn't, every flash on people that escaped... - Is it a commercial? - It has to be some sort of advertisement. - I don't exactly know what's going on.
(commentators shouting) - Playing games, that's fun. - Video games. - Oh, boy. Game playing. - (commentator) Play by Phoenix on Azir! - That's a sport announcer.
- (commentator) 2015 Summer Split Champions. (crowd shouting) - Oh, it seems like a video game competition tournament. - Oh.
The video game championship. - Was it about-- what? A game or something?
- Looks like the start of a gaming-- what do you call it?-- contest. I saw a little tiny dab of it on the news. - People play against each other with big money.
People think that playing games is like loner. But actually, many of that to me is considered artist. (movie reel clicks) - (FBE) Any idea exactly what we had you watch? - No. - I don't know what that was. - I really have no idea what it was.
- Definitely sports, promoing sports. - It was the start of a sports event. - Like a video game tournament, championship. - (FBE) Well, this was actually a promo for competitive video gaming, also known as eSports.
- eSports, okay. Oh, I have heard about competitive video gaming. - So it's sports online with video games, our favorite subject, video games. - (FBE) Had you ever heard of this before? - No. Did the kids play while watching it?
- No, I heard of fantasy football. - I don't watch sports. I don't talk about sports. I certainly haven't heard of eSports. - Yeah, vaguely. - I did see a thing on the news where they were having one of these contests somewhere.
- I've heard of eSports before, because I happen to interact with younger people, and they're always talking about it. What a way to make money as opposed to going to work 9 to 5 in some boring job. Why not do something you love?
- (FBE) Now we're actually gonna show you some footage from one of these eSports tournaments. - Okay. - I'm just concerned about what I'm gonna see. - (commentator) Oh, this is a two for two in the midlane. - Whoa. - (commentator) ...be able to find the stun.
But PerkZ, the power is unleashed. Scatter the Weak will not... - Lookit. They're going at it big time. (chuckles) - I could play this game. It looks very interesting.
- Boy, that's very intense. - It's very busy. - Who's who?
How do you tell which guy is doing what? - (commentator) It's his for the Summer Split Finals. It is for the pentakill!

Back to home page